Rules & Terms

General information

Films with a length of up to 30 minutes can be submitted. The Niederrhein Filmfestival reserves the right to show films longer than 30 minutes. 

  1. The submission period is from 22 October to 31 December 2019.  

  2. The assignment to a competition category and festival section is determined by the production location/country or content.

 

Festival Sections

The program of the Niederrhein Filmfestival consists of: 

  • Three competitions 

  • special programs

  • supporting programs


The organisers reserve the right to move individual films to other categories. A decision may also be taken to allow films of excessive length. All submissions will be reviewed by at least two independent persons. The juries are present during the festival and view with the audience. There may be exceptions to this rule.

1. Competition

The Lower Rhine film festival has the following competition sections:

  • Competition Lower Rhine 

  • Competition Netherlands

  • Competition Germany

The 2019 competitions will be included:

  • Productions from Germany and the Netherlands

  • short fiction films, animated films, experimental films, documentaries and children's films

  • with a maximum film length of 30 minutes

 

The competition Lower Rhine is open for:

  • Production from Germany  

  • Special attention is paid to productions from the Lower Rhine region, as well as supra-regional productions whose content refers to the Lower Rhine region (e.g. dialect, tradition, culinary, architecture, music, culture, atmosphere, personalities etc.).

Productions from the Netherlands:

  • Productions from the Netherlands

The competition Germany is open for:

  • Productions from Germany

 

2. special programs

Film submissions can be made both in the special program and in the competition. The special programs are curated programs from submissions and/or archive films. The special programs include, for example, school events, country focus programs, children's and youth programs. The selection is the responsibility of the respective curators. A brief description of the program is enclosed with the request for a special program.

Juries and prizes

The juries will award the following prizes (as of October 2019):

  • Lower Rhine Film Prize (EUR 500)

  • Netherlands Film Award (EUR 500)

  • Wesel Donkey (Germany) (EUR 500)

  • Price of the audience

 

The Lower Rhine film festival would like to express its thanks to the award donors.

 

Submission

Films are to be submitted digitally via FilmFreeway. Preview DVDs will not be returned. Therefore, please do not send a DVD of the festival! 
The submission requires the unrestricted acceptance of the regulations. By submitting your film, you agree to the selection of your film for one of the competitions or for another program section.

Materials and Pictures

1-2 film stills (JPEG or TIFF, min. 300dpi) as well as 1 photo and short biography (max. 160 characters) of the director must be attached to the submission. Obligatory is also a contact e-mail address for notification of submission status and publication in print and online festival materials. The details of the selected films for the catalogue and the website, in particular contact, film metadata and synopsis, will be taken over as specified in the submission.

 

Selection

Movie files and all required data must be uploaded by December 31, 2019.

 

Please note the following: 

  • Trailers will not be accepted. 

  • Submissions that require registration for download or viewing will be ignored. 

  • Submissions that are moved / deleted during the viewing phase will be ignored. 

  • Password-protected submissions for which there is no or a wrong password will be ignored. 

  • The unsolicited sending of additional information material (dialogue list, trailer, press material, etc.) is not permitted.

 

The selection jury will make its decision by the end of February 2019. Filmmakers whose works will be included in the festival program will automatically be informed by e-mail. Rejections will not be sent. The selection committee decides on the program, an independent jury or the audience decides on the awarding of prizes for individual entries. Only selected films may take part in the competition. The selection results will be communicated online. The decisions of the jury cannot be appealed. 
In the case of submissions via an Internet platform, the status and receipt of news of the submission must be checked.

 

Demonstration copy

A screening copy will be requested separately by the festival management. This copy must be available in digital form by 15 March 2019. All selected films will be announced by the Niederrhein Filmfestival with film stills and trailers.


The festival screening copies for the festival should be uploaded or better sent as mp4 files to the festival digitally. MP4, HD, 25 or 24 fps, codec H264 - 10 Mbs - 1920 x 1080. 

If the original version is in a language other than German, the film must be subtitled. In case of loss or deterioration of a hard disk during the festival, the festival is only obliged to replace a hard disk with a lower value or equivalent to 50 €. Thank you for not sending us the master of the film.

 

Rights of use

The films selected for the official festival program will be shown in public during the festival. This includes making them available for school screenings, exploiting them within the framework of pre- and post-programs (such as audience favorites, prizewinners) as well as promoting the festival (excerpts for trailers).

 

The festival is granted the right to use and reproduce set photos for the purposes of festival and competition promotion - also in print, television and Internet media - free of charge. The festival is granted the right to use extracts from the film free of charge in the context of reporting and promotion of the festival, to pass them on to reporting media (television, radio, Internet) for non-commercial use and to place them online on its website. Fifteen percent (2 minutes) of the total running time of the film may not be exceeded.
 

Once the submission form has been sent, the film can no longer be withdrawn. By submitting the submission form, submitters also confirm that they have assured third parties involved in the production that they agree to participate in the festival. The Lower Rhine fIlm festival archives, unless expressly prohibited, a copy of the preview file of the films shown in the festival archive for internal and non-commercial purposes. Any commercial use of the archived films by the festival is excluded. The Niederrhein Kurzfilmfestival and the Verein Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V. accept no liability. Any claims by third parties will be forwarded to the submitter. 

By submitting a film to the Niederrhein Film Festival, the broadcaster agrees to the film shown at the festival. By submitting your film or video, you guarantee that you have all relevant permits, licenses and approvals for your film or video that will be shown in a public exhibition.

 

Copy Transport

The transport costs for the screening copies to the festival in Wesel will be borne by the sender. A pro-forma invoice must be enclosed with the foreign broadcasts. Since this is not a value of goods in the actual sense (the goods are not sold, no profit is made), the lowest possible amount should be used as the value of the goods in order to keep any customs duties as low as possible. The items with the demonstration copies must be marked "NO COMMERCIAL VALUE, FOR CULTURAL/ FESTIVAL PURPOSES ONLY".

 

The sender bears the costs and risks of sending the viewing material and the screening copies to the festival. This also applies if the copies are sent from other festivals. The sender must coordinate the dispatch of copies. The film copies are insured with their copy value during the events.

Fees

A screening fee (film rental) is not paid and a submission fee is not charged. However, there may be a small amount of expenses for the service of the submission platform. The Lower Rhine fIlm festival has no influence on this.

Accreditation

Selected film directors receive an accreditation for the festival. This accreditation may not be used by third parties. Filmmakers whose productions are included in the program are expected to be present for the presentation and discussion of their films and for the award ceremony.

 

Contact and postal address

E-Mail: 

niederrhein.filmfestival@mail.de

Postal address:

Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V. 
Grünstraße 31 
46483 Wesel 
GERMANY / DEUTSCHLAND

Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V.

Grünstr. 31

46483 Wesel

niederrhein.filmfestival@mail.de

© 2020 Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • filmfreeway

Regeln und Bedingungen

Allgemein

  1. Es können Filme mit einer Länge bis zu 30 Minuten eingereicht werden. Dem Niederrhein Filmfestival ist es vorbehalten, auch Filme länger als 30 Minuten zu zeigen. 

  2. Einreichzeitraum ist vom 1 September bis einschließlich 31 Dezember 2019. 

  3. Die Zuordnung zu einer Wettbewerbskategorie und Festivalsektion wird durch den Produktionsort/-land bzw. Inhalt bestimmt.

 

Festivalsektionen

Das Programm des Niederrhein Filmfestival besteht aus: 

  • Zwei Wettbewerben 

  • Sonderprogrammen 

  • Rahmenprogrammen

Die Organisatoren behalten sich das Recht vor, einzelne Filme in andere Kategorien zu verschieben. Ebenso kann der Beschluss gefasst werden, Filme mit Überlange zuzulassen. Alle Einreichungen werden von mindestens zwei unabhängigen Personen gesichtet. Die Jurys sind während des Festivals anwesend und sichtet mit dem Publikum. Unter Umständen kann davon abgewichen werden.

 

1. Wettbewerb

Das Niederrheinfilmfestival hat folgende Wettbewerbssektionen:

  • Wettbewerb Niederrhein (Deutschland)

  • Wettbewerb Niederlande 

In die Wettbewerbe 2020 werden aufgenommen:

  • Produktionen aus Deutschland und Niederlanden

  • Kurzspielfilme, Animationsfilme, Experimentalfilme, Dokumentarfilme und Kinderfilme 

  • mit einer maximalen Filmlänge von 30 Minuten

Der Wettbewerb Niederrhein ist offen für:

  • Produktion aus Deutschland 

  • Besonderes Augenmerk wird gelegt auf Produktionen aus der Region Niederrhein, sowie überregionale Produktionen, die in ihrem Inhalt Bezug nehmen auf die Region Niederrhein (z.B. Dialekt, Tradition, Kulinarisches, Architektur, Musik, Kultur, Stimmung, Persönlichkeiten etc.)

Der Niederlande Wettbewerb ist offen für:

  • Produktionen aus den Niederlanden

 

2. Sonderprogramme

Filmeinreichungen können sowohl im Sonderprogramm und im Wettbewerb laufen. Die Sonderprogramme sind kuratierte Programme aus Einreichungen und/oder Archivfilmen. Zu den Sonderprogrammen gehören bspw. Schulveranstaltungen, Länderschwerpunktprogramme, Kinder- und Jugendprogramme. Die Auswahl obliegt den jeweiligen Kuratoren. Mit der Anfrage zu einem Sonderprogramm wird auch eine Kurzbeschreibung zum Programm beigefügt.

Jurys und Preise

Die Jurys vergeben folgende Preise (Stand August 2019):

  • Niederrhein Film Preis (EUR 500)

  • Niederlande Film Preis (EUR 500)

  • Wesel Esel (Preis des Publikums) (EUR 500)

 

Das Niederrhein Filmfestival bedankt sich ausdrücklich bei den Preisstiftern.

 

Einreichung

Filme sollen digital via FilmFreeway eingereicht werden. Vorschau-DVDs werden nicht zurückgegeben. Sende Sie deshalb bitte keine DVD zum Festival! 
Die Einreichung setzt die uneingeschränkte Anerkennung des Reglements voraus. Mit der Einreichung stimmen Sie der Auswahl Ihres Filmes für einen der Wettbewerbe oder für eine andere Programmsektion zu.

Materialien und Bilder

Der Einreichung bei sind 1-2 Filmstills (JPEG oder TIFF, mind. 300dpi), sowie 1 Foto und Kurzbiographie (max.160 Zeichen) des/der Regisseurs/Regisseurin anzuhängen. Verpflichtend ist zudem eine Kontaktemailadresse zur Benachrichtigung über den Einreichstatus und Veröffentlichung in Print- und Online-Festivalmaterialien. Die Angaben der ausgewählten Filme für den Katalog und die Website, insbesondere Kontakt, Filmmetadaten und Synopse, werden wie bei der Einreichung angegeben übernommen.

 

Auswahl

Filmdateien und alle erforderlichen Daten müssen bis zum 31. Dezember 2019 hochgeladen werden.

 

Bitte folgendes beachten: 

  • Trailer werden nicht akzeptiert. 

  • Einreichungen, die eine Registrierung zum Download oder Sichtung benötigen, werden ignoriert. 

  • Einreichungen, die während der Sichtungsphase verschoben / gelöscht werden, werden ignoriert. 

  • Passwortgeschützte Einreichungen, zu denen kein oder ein falsches Passwort vorliegt, werden ignoriert. 

  • Von der unaufgeforderten Zusendung von zusätzlichem Infomaterial (Dialogliste, Trailer, Pressematerialien o.ä.) ist abzusehen.

 

Der Auswahljury trifft seine Entscheidung bis Ende Februar 2020. Filmemacher, deren Arbeiten für das Festivalprogramm aufgenommen werden, werden automatisch per E-Mail informiert. Ablehnungen werden nicht gesendet. Über das Programm entscheidet die Auswahlkommission, über die Prämierung einzelner Wettbewerbsbeiträge eine unabhängige Jury bzw. das Publikum. Nur ausgewählte Filme dürfen am Wettbewerb teilnehmen. Die Auswahlergebnisse werden online mitgeteilt. Die Entscheidungen der Jury können nicht angefochten werden. 
Bei einer Einreichung über eine Internetplattform sind Status und Nachrichteneingang der Einreichung zu prüfen.

Vorführkopie

Eine Vorführkopie wird von der Festivalleitung gesondert angefordert. Dieses Exemplar muss bis zum 15. März 2020 in digitaler Form vorliegen. Alle ausgewählten Filme werden vom Niederrhein Filmfestival mit Filmstills und gegeben falls Trailern bekannt gegeben.


Die Festival-Screening-Kopien für das Festival sollten hochgeladen oder besser als mp4-Datei an das Festival digital gesendet werden. MP4, HD, 25 or 24 fps, codec H264 - 10 Mbs - 1920 x 1080. 
 

Wenn die Originalversion in einer anderen Sprache als Deutsch ist, muss der Film untertitelt sein. Im Falle des Verlusts oder der Verschlechterung einer Festplatte während des Festivals, ist das Festival nur verpflichtet, eine Festplatte mit einem niedrigeren Wert oder gleichwertig zu 50 € zu ersetzen. Danke, dass Sie uns den Master des Films nicht geschickt haben.

 

Nutzungsrechte

Die für das offizielle Festivalprogramm ausgewählten Filme werden im Rahmen des Festivals in öffentlichen Vorführungen gezeigt. Hierzu zählt die Bereitstellung für Schulvorstellungen, die Verwertung im Rahmen von Vorlauf- und Nachprogrammen (in etwa Publikumslieblinge, Preisträgerflme) sowie die Bewerbung des Festivals (Auszugsweise für Trailer). 


Das Festival erhält das Recht zur angemessenen kostenlosen Verwendung und Vervielfältigung von Setfotos für die Zwecke der Festival- und Wettbewerbspromotion – auch in Print-, Fernseh- und Internetmedien. Das Festival erhält das Recht, kostenlos Ausschnitte aus dem Film im Rahmen der Berichterstattung und Promotion des Festivals zu verwenden, an Bericht erstattende Medien (Fernsehen, Hörfunk, Internet) zur nichtkommerziellen Nutzung weiterzugeben und auf seiner Webpräsenz online zu stellen. Dabei dürfen fünfzehn Prozent (2 Minuten) der Gesamtlaufzeit des Films nicht überschritten werden.

Mit dem Absenden des Einreichungsformulars kann der Film nicht mehr zurückgezogen werden. Einreicher bestätigen mit der Einreichung auch, sich gegenüber Dritten, die an der Produktion beteiligt waren, vergewissert zu haben, dass diese mit einer Teilnahme am Festival einverstanden sind. Das Niederrhein FIlmfestival archiviert, so nicht ausdrücklich untersagt, eine Kopie der Vorschaudatei der gezeigten Filme im Festivalarchiv für interne und nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke. Eine kommerzielle Nutzung der archivierten Filme durch das Festival ist ausgeschlossen. Das Niederrhein Kurzfilmfestival, bzw. der Verein Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V., übernimmt keine Haftung. Etwaige Forderungen Dritter werden an den Einreichenden weitergeleitet. 


Mit der Einreichung eines Films am Filmfestival Niederrhein stimmt der Sender dem auf dem Festival gezeigten Film zu. Indem Sie Ihren Film oder Ihr Video einreichen, garantieren Sie, dass Sie alle relevanten Genehmigungen, Lizenzen und Freigaben für Ihren Film oder Ihr Video haben, die in einer öffentlichen Ausstellung gezeigt werden.

 

Kopientransport

Die Transportkosten für die Vorführkopien zum Festival nach Wesel werden von den Einsendenden getragen. Den Sendungen aus dem Ausland muss eine Pro-Forma-Rechnung beigefügt werden. Da es sich um keinen Warenwert im eigentlichen Sinne handelt (die Ware wird nicht veräußert, es wird kein Gewinn erwirtschaftet), ist ein möglichst niedriger Betrag als Warenwert einzusetzen, um eventuell anfallende Zollgebühren so gering wie möglich zu halten. Die Sendungen mit den Vorführkopien müssen mit dem Vermerk: „NO COMMERCIAL VALUE, FOR CULTURAL/ FESTIVAL PURPOSES ONLY" versehen werden. 


Kosten und Risiken des Versands des Sichtungsmaterials und der Vorführkopien zum Festival trägt der Einsender. Dies gilt auch, wenn die Kopien von anderen Festivals geschickt werden. Der Einsender hat den Kopienversand zu koordinieren. Die Filmkopien sind während der Veranstaltungen mit ihrem Kopienwert versichert.

Gebühren

Eine Screening Fee (Filmmiete) wird nicht bezahlt und eine Einreichgebühr nicht erhoben. Für den Service der Einreichplattform kann jedoch Unkosten im geringen Umfang entstehen. Das Niederrhein FIlmfestival hat hierauf keinen Einfuss.

Akkreditierung

Ausgewählte Filmregisseure erhalten eine Akkreditierung für das Festival. Diese Akkreditierung darf nicht von Dritten genutzt werden. Von den Filmemachern, deren Produktionen ins Programm aufgenommen werden, wird erwartet, dass sie zur Präsentation und Diskussion ihrer Filme sowie zur Preisverleihung anwesend sind.

 

Kontakt und Postadresse

E-Mail: 

niederrhein.filmfestival@mail.de

Postadresse:

Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V. 
Grünstraße 31 
46483 Wesel 
GERMANY / DEUTSCHLAND

Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V.

Grünstr. 31

46483 Wesel

festival@niederrheinfilm.de

© 2019 Filmkultur am Niederrhein e.V.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • filmfreeway